St George's Church is integral to our school life at Duchy.
For over 160 Years, The Duchy of Lancaster School and The Church of England have been providing an Education for the pupils of Methwold and the surrounding area. Much has changed over the years but being the link between the school, the community and St George's Church remains as steadfast as ever. In Ecclesiastes 4:12, the Bible tells us that “though one may be overpowered, two can defend themselves. A cord of three strands is not quickly broken.”
History of St George's
St. George`s Church is a Grade One Listed Building, situated in the middle of a conservation area.
The first church was built on the site in the 1200`s. It was a Gothic “Decorated” church. Within the first 100 years the body of the church was destroyed by fire and the present nave, with its enlarged aisles was built.
The original east walls of the “Decorated” aisles are incorporated in the present ones. The only parts of the original church to survive are the chancel, the chancel arch and the tower. The east window still displays the original tracery.
During the rebuilding of the nave in the 1400’s, Gothic “perpendicular” windows were inserted in the side walls of the chancel and the ground floor of the tower. At the same time, an octagonal corona and a long, thin spire were built on the tower. The design was probably inspired by the belfry of Bruges . When the Bruges spire burned down, it left the spire and corona of Methwold unique in the world. English Heritage recently contributed 60% to the cost of extensive repairs to the stonework of the tower, corona and spire.